Archives - Social Media


Delete old social media profiles

In order to stay protected from cybercriminals, try to leave the smallest digital footprint possible. The size of your digital footprint will depend on your overall internet activity, including how many online profiles you have. Personal pages on legacy sites like Myspace or Friendster typically contain personal data. So if you’re not using those sites […]

Report suspicious or harassing social media activity

If you or family members are being harassed or threatened, report the activity. Work with your social media platform to report and possibly block harassing users. Report an incident if you’ve been a victim of cybercrime. Local and national authorities are ready to assist you.

Never click and tell

Limit what information you post on social media—from personal addresses to where you like to grab coffee. What many people don’t realize is that these seemingly random details are all that criminals need to know to target you, your loved ones, and your physical belongings—online and in the real world. Keep Social Security numbers, account […]

Update your social media privacy settings

Here’s a couple of simple steps to connect safely and navigate the social media world. Set the privacy and security settings to your comfort level for information sharing. Disable geotagging, which allows anyone to see where you are—and where you aren’t—at any given time.

Watch for the soldier scam on social media – especially on Facebook

Impersonating U.S. soldiers is a common scam tactic on Facebook. Someone will pretend to be a service member and then ask for escalating payments to help tend to an injury or other invented pretext. As a rule of thumb, don’t pay anyone on Facebook unless you know them.

Remember, there is no ‘Delete’ button on the Internet

With every social media account you sign up for, every picture you post, and status you update, you are sharing information about yourself with the world. Share with care, because even if you delete a post or picture from your profile seconds after posting it, chances are someone still saw it.