Archives - Instagram


Avoid sharing links to your Instagram posts to other accounts

If your Instagram is set to private, no one can see your posts through the Instagram app except for your approved followers. However, if you post a link to an Instagram post on another account, the permalink will work for anyone, not just your approved Instagram followers. If you want to limit who sees your […]

Make your Instagram account private

Your Instagram likely contains personal photos and information about your location. Making your account private will hide everything but your profile picture and a brief description from anyone whom you do not accept as a follower. It even hides the posts that you “like.” To make your account private: Select Settings > Privacy > Account […]

Restrict certain users on Instagram

Instagram allows you to restrict a user, which is effectively a shadow-ban. Once restricted, their comments can’t be seen by anyone else. The restricted user gets no indication that they’ve been limited, making “restrict” often a better option than “block,” since the latter results in them noticing they can’t see your feed.

Be extra careful with applications that frequently get hacked

Cybercriminals target some applications more than others. Instagram, Snapchat and WhatsApp are the three most hacked apps, while Facebook, Amazon and Netflix sit much lower on the list. These rankings are important to consider when tightening up cybersecurity for yourself and your loved ones.

Log off of social media accounts when you’re not using them

Simply closing the Instagram app doesn’t log you out of your profile. So, if you leave a device unattended and without password protection, anyone can reopen your Instagram home page and view your private pictures, messages, etc. When you’re not using a social networking site, make sure you’re properly logged out

Manage third-party app permissions in Instagram

Have you connected any services to your Instagram account, for example for photo printing or sharing? You can check on these permissions and revoke them as needed from Settings -> Security -> Apps and Websites from within the Instagram app.