Archives - Security Settings


Understand Google Docs sharing permissions

When you share a Google Doc, make sure you’ve set permissions that keep your document as secure as possible. You can opt to restrict access to a specific domain or to people who have the full link. Alternatively, you may make it public on the internet, but check whether you’ve enabled commenting or editing permissions […]

Disable push notifications on Windows when sharing your full screen

When you have to share your screen for a videoconference meeting, you should limit visibility to only the applications you need to display. If you must share your whole desktop or an entire monitor, turn off notifications so you don’t inadvertently share personal information during the call. From the “System” menu for Settings, select “Notifications […]

Set a timeout screen lock for Windows laptops

Ensure that your device automatically locks, restricting access to the data, if it’s left unattended for a certain amount of time. Select “Settings” from the Windows menu. Then, click “Systems.” From there, tap “Power & sleep.” Adjust your sleep settings to a suitable time frame. Make sure your screen is set to lock by checking […]

Take the Google Security Checkup

The Security Checkup offered by Google is a step-by-step guide for making sure your account is secure and recoverable in case it’s attacked. Open your account page, then select the Security tab. At the top, you’ll see a message that says “We keep your account protected.” Click “Get started” and follow the on-screen instructions. If […]

Check security settings on your web browser

Your web browser is your primary connection to the rest of the internet, and multiple applications may rely on your browser, or elements within your browser, to function. This makes the security settings within your browser even more important. Many web applications try to enhance your browsing experience by enabling different types of functionality, but […]

Manage third-party app permissions in Instagram

Have you connected any services to your Instagram account, for example for photo printing or sharing? You can check on these permissions and revoke them as needed from Settings -> Security -> Apps and Websites from within the Instagram app.